Skip links

AMLA welcome new co-chairs

The Australian Media Literacy Alliance welcomes new Co-Chairs for 2024-2026.

Anita Planchon (pictured left) will serve as Chair of AMLA. Anita is a senior state servant with the Tasmanian Department for Education, Children and Young People, working to improve literacy, access to information and digital inclusion through the education, library and archives sectors. She is a member of the ABC Advisory Council and was previously an Australian diplomat for nearly two decades with postings in Asia and the Pacific..

Christine Evely (pictured right) is Head of Education at ACMI, Australia’s museum of screen culture. She plays a critical role in the development of onsite and online programs that foster appreciation and understanding of the moving image and the role it plays in a highly connected world. Christine leads a committed team of educators and encourages teachers from early years, primary, secondary, and tertiary settings to collaborate with ACMI to help young people become critical and creative thinkers equipped with flexible and dynamic screen, media and digital literacy skills.

AMLA thank the departing chairs Annabel Astbury (ABC Education) and Tanya Notley (Western Sydney University) for their dedicated leadership over the past three years. During this period AMLA’s inaugural co-chairs worked with AMLA members to lead a number of highly impactful initiatives including including the Australian Media Literacy Summit, the Adult Media Literacy Survey and the Australian Media Literacy Research Symposium.